top of page

What is Important

Three years ago I met my first thruhiker. He said, "if you need to figure something out, hike the trail. By the time you are finished you will have figured it out." His words have stuck with me. For a while I assumed he meant the trail helped one figure out what to do next in life, or figure out a solution to personal problems. It wasn't my goal to "figure something out" when I began my hike, though an epiphany would have been welcome. After completing the hike, I think I finally understand what he meant. I didn't figure out what to do with my life, or figure out how to end war, stop world hunger, or save the planet, but I have figured out one thing: what is important in life.People.


I have had a great number of adventures that others may look upon with fascination or envy. I have canoed down the lower Colorado River. I have descended into the depths of the Grand Canyon. I have kayaked through the swamps of the Everglades. I have climbed the bald head of Half Dome. I have dogsledded across the frozen lakes of the Boundary Waters. And now, I have walked from Georgia to Maine. But no matter what I have done, or where I have gone, one thing is consistent: it is the relationships built and the experiences shared that make these adventures amazing and memorable. It's not where you are at, but who you are with. Because without people, life is just... empty.


I want to thank those people who were a part of my journey, from trail angels to hostel owners. A thanks to all the hiker friends and the amazing community I am now a part of. Certainly a thanks to Firefly is due, for she put up with all my shortcomings and over-eagerness all along the trail. Additionally, I am so blessed and thankful to have a supportive network of friends and family at home. And finally, thanks to the readers of this blog, for it was at other's prompting that I decided to publicly document this trip.


Unless inspiration strikes, this should be my last post. See you up the trail.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page