top of page

Gratitudes


If nothing else is gained from a long backcountry adventure, at least people will always walk away with a greater since of gratitude. From the miracles of running water to a pair of clean socks, the wilderness facilitates an awareness for how much we truly have to be grateful for.


I want to take a moment to recognize those things and people that made this journey possible, as an adventure like this is impossible to do alone:


The trail crew: This trail was simply amazing. It leads through some of the most beautiful parts of the country, offers opportunities for incredible alternates, and ventures into the depths of the wilderness. Technically incomplete, and while non-existent for much of the time, part of the excitement of this trail was actually not following a trail at all. Trail crews and the CDTC have been working hard to get signage out and create a footpath, and will be putting in long hours to complete the missing sections within the decade. A 3000 mile footpath doesn't just materialize, and I am so grateful for the folks who are willing to create and maintain a trail in such remote areas.


Guthook aka Far Out: The app used by thousands of thruhikers. I was especially thankful to have it for this trail, for it gave me the freedom to get lost without worry. All I had to do was whip out my phone, see where my little dot was compared to the wrinkled line of trail, and make my way back without issue.


Friendly folks who gave me a ride: With over 45 hitches, this was by far more hitching than the other two trails combined. Two 100+ mile hitches in places far from the trail went by smoother than I ever could have imagined. I got to ride with all kinds of people from all walks of life, exchanging and sharing worlds from 10 minutes to 2 hours. While the media screams out chaos, so many kind people risked picking up dirty humans, proving that maybe the world isn't so terrible after all.


Family: From my mom Lil Bit who managed resupply packages and came out to spend a week with me on trail (while my dad dependably held down the fort), to my family at home who sent encouragement and enthusiasm, I am ever so grateful for a family who supports what I do, even if it is something as nonsensical as just walking for months on end.


Friends: The majority of trail magic I received on this trail came from friends, whether it was a meal, a place to stay, a shower, or a nice visit, I appreciated every interaction I had with those that took time to help me out.


Ranger: If you haven't figured it out by now, Ranger and I had started dating by the end of trail. What started with a simple act from nice guy not wanting to leave an injured girl to hike alone, grew into a beautiful relationship. I was grateful to have so many good conversations as friends before we jumped into something more, and cherish every hardship and joy we shared on trail.


God: Answered prayers, perfect timing, struggles turned to strengths, and endless protection surrounded me this trail. He is good.


Privilege: I want to note that not everyone is able to do this kind of thing, no matter how much they want it. Family, finances, ability, and responsibilities can hold people back from attempting a long hike. I am so thankful for the freedom and ability to dedicate months to walking. I am blessed.



On trail, I made of list of things I was excited for in the "real world," and it feels only fitting to include it with my gratitudes:

  • Hot running tap water that you can drink without filtering

  • Standing up from a bed and not from the floor

  • Not having to inflate and deflate, set up and take down your sleep space every night

  • Putting on clean socks every day

  • A kitchen

  • Light that you can turn on and off and control

  • A pan and a fork

  • Cotton clothes

  • A thermostat

  • Anything with wheels

  • Bed sheets

  • Toilet paper that spins on a roller

  • A familiar shower

  • Free laundry machines

  • Trash cans

  • Not having to hold it while you frantically dig a poop hole

  • Freely using phone battery

  • A full-length toothbrush


85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page