top of page

Five Million Steps

Five Million. That is the average number of steps a thruhiker walks on the Appalachian Trail. In March I take the first of those steps from Springer Mountain, the southern terminus in Georgia.


I am not alone. A friend walks with me. Diane and I were both Outdoor Leadership majors in college, and we quickly bonded over hiking and ice cream. One fateful day we decided we would take those 5 million steps to Maine together.

I have been eagerly awaiting that first step since three years ago when I first discovered the Appalachian Trail. I am ready. I am ready for the adventure... the rain, the sunrises, the wildlife, the pain, the comradery, the fatigue, the views, the cold, the stars, the endless hills. I am ready for this life-changing experience. The mountains are calling, and I must go.*


*John Muir

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page